Alright, so we all said things we didn’t mean, things that could get us in trouble, the messages we sent to the wrong connection (this one happens to me a lot! Especially on my busiest days, etc. Thankfully, social platforms allow users to delete these specific messages.

Thankfully LinkedIn is one of these platforms; I mean, when I think about so many messages that I deleted in the last few months! all of us need an eraser, right? And it’s not only about the messages you sent and want to delete; it also can be about clearing your crowded messaging section to manage it easier.

How to delete messages on LinkedIn? It’s so easy, but it has one condition. You have to decide in the first 60 minutes.

How to Delete Messages in LinkedIn?

How to delete messages on LinkedIn?

Now, to delete an individual message, it must be sent in the last 60 minutes. You cannot delete or edit the message after an hour.

See also  How to Save LinkedIn Profile as Pdf?

  1. Log in to your account
  2. Click on the ‘Messaging’ icon on your page
  3. Choose the connection you want to delete the messages from
  4. Hold your cursor on the massage to see a pop-up bar of reactions
  5. Click on the ‘…’ icon at the end of the bar
  6. Choose delete
  7. A message will appear on the screen that says: “This message will be deleted for all participants in the conversation.”
  8. Click on the ‘delete’ button

You can do the same from the messaging dropdown, which is always in the bottom right corner. Remember that there is absolutely no way to recover the messages you deleted, so either has a backup plan or leave the important messages be.

How to Delete Messages in LinkedIn?

Ever felt that the messaging section is too crowded? You can always clean your messaging. This one also needs to be done carefully, you know, for the non-recoverable nature of it.

See also  How to Change Location on LinkedIn?

All you have to do is to log in to your account,

  1. Click on ‘Messaging’ and choose the connection you want to clear the chat history.
  2. Click on the ‘…’ in front of their name.
  3. A message appears that says: “Sure you want to delete your entire conversation history with (the user’s name)?”
  4. Click on the ‘yes, delete’ button.

Although if you are not that sure that you are willing to lose all the messages in there, you can permanently archive them instead of deleting them.

See also  How to Add Company Logo to LinkedIn?

You need to know that when you delete individual messages, they will get deleted on both sides, but there will also be a permanent message instead of the deleted message that says ‘this message has been deleted’.

The sound mind says it’s no one’s business to ask you what this was or why you deleted it, but people usually will ask you this in real life.

So maybe you need to be more careful while sending a message on LinkedIn. Also, you need to know that when you delete a connection’s messages, you will lose them, but your connections still have them in their messaging section.

Alright, you know how to delete messages on LinkedIn now. So if you’ve sent a wrong message or to a wrong connection, delete it within an hour.

Categorized in:

Tagged in:

,