Have you ever turned private mode on or off on LinkedIn? If you’re surprised to ask this question, then maybe you don’t know the meaning of private mode on LinkedIn and you may have many questions like this. For example, what does turn off private mode in LinkedIn mean?

In LinkedIn, unlike other social media, privacy settings are of crucial importance.

That’s why in this platform, the ability to view user profiles and activities for all LinkedIn members is active by default, and some LinkedIn members may not like this mode, consequently, they try to turn on the private mode on LinkedIn, as well as they get tired of this mode and turn the private mode off.

Is it necessary to view privacy settings on LinkedIn?

LinkedIn is excellent for connecting with professionals, finding job opportunities, generating potential leads, and building credibility.

Many LinkedIn members believe that LinkedIn is a safe social network. Now, if you haven’t faced a threat to your privacy on LinkedIn, there is no reason to ignore the privacy settings on this platform.

However, managing privacy settings on this platform seems a bit more complex than on other social media.

Contrary to other social networks, privacy settings on LinkedIn are not limited to the ability to view posts or user profiles by different people.

Moreover, the activity of users on LinkedIn is also considered confidential.

Since the foundation of LinkedIn is established about connecting with experts and professionals, the possibility of viewing user activity by all members is active by default.

Information related to a change in job status, new connections, or even a user’s viewing of other members’ profiles is accessible to other users. That’s why it’s so vital to set up your privacy settings, especially if you’re looking for a job.

See also  Change Title in LinkedIn Without Notification

What is the private mode on LinkedIn?

In simple terms, private mode on LinkedIn hides your activities on this platform.

One of the great features of the private mode is that you can namelessly browse and view the profiles and activities of other LinkedIn members.

As you know, users’ profiles and contact details are visible to everyone by default while browsing. This means that when you check other people’s profiles, LinkedIn users can access personal information on your profile through this feature “Who’s Viewed Your Profile”.

However, if you don’t want others to know that you’ve seen their profile and want to remain anonymous, turning on private mode is a good solution.

As such, you can rest assured that no other information regarding you’ll be shared with the user whose profile you’ve checked.

Meanwhile, LinkedIn members can’t view your profile when they are blocked.

What happens when you enable private mode on LinkedIn?

If you’ve activated the private mode in LinkedIn and in this mode you’ve visited the profile of any LinkedIn member you’ve liked, you have definitely realized that they cannot identify you in any way.

Instead, they’ll see you as Anonymous LinkedIn Members.

How to view private mode settings in your LinkedIn account?

To see your privacy settings in your LinkedIn user account, just follow these simple steps:

Step 1: click on the Me icon in the upper right part of your LinkedIn page.

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

Step 2: Navigate the drop-down menu under your profile button in the upper right.

Step 3: Select the Settings & Privacy button from the drop-down menu.

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

Step 3: Click on the Visibility button from the Settings menu.

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

Step 4: Click on the Profile viewing options button under Visibility of your profile & network from the opened window.

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

Step 5: At this step, you can set your profile viewing options in the following three modes:

See also  How to Get Verified on LinkedIn?

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

  • Public mode: In this mode, your full name and headline are visible on your profile and everyone can click on your profile to see them.
  • Private profile characteristics or semi-private mode: In this mode, the name of your industry, company, or job title is visible.
  • Private mode: In this mode, nothing is displayed on your profile and you’re completely anonymous.

Notes: Keep in mind that

  • All LinkedIn members can use private mode. It doesn’t matter whether they are premium members or not.
  • Opting for the second and third mode options disables Who’s Viewed Your Profile and deletes your viewership history.
  • Those with a premium membership can look through LinkedIn profiles privately.
  • When you enable the private mode, you’ll appear as an anonymous LinkedIn member in the list of who’s viewed your profile.

Benefits of using private mode on LinkedIn

In the following article, let’s take a look at some of the advantages of using the LinkedIn private mode, which differ according to the goals of the users of this platform:

How to enable the private mode on LinkedIn?

To enable or turn on private mode on LinkedIn, all you have to do is the following steps:

Step 1: Tap the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.

Step 2: Select the Settings & Privacy button from the drop-down menu.

Step 3: Click on the Visibility option on the left side of the opened menu.

Step 4: In the section of Visibility of your profile & network, click Profile viewing options and then tap the Private mode button to activate the private mode on LinkedIn.

See also  How to Tag Companies on LinkedIn?

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

When is the best time to turn off private mode on LinkedIn?

Our advice to you is that if you intend to earn more revenue and expand your business on LinkedIn, never choose the private mode to access people’s profiles.

It’s quite clear that when your identity is hidden from LinkedIn members, you’ll be prevented from building business connections and job opportunities.

That’s why with your identity remaining anonymous, how can they be attracted to the products and services of your business and become your potential customers?

Besides, it should not be overlooked that when you browse anonymously on LinkedIn, your interactions with others will be limited whether you like it or not.

How to turn off the private mode on LinkedIn?

If you have enabled the private mode for your LinkedIn profile, you can disable or turn it off to change your browsing mode. To do it, you need to follow these steps:

Step 1: Click the Me icon at the top right of your LinkedIn homepage.

Step 2: Click the Settings & Privacy tab.

Step 3: Click the Visibility option on the left side of the opened menu.

Step 4: Click the Profile viewing options from the Visibility of your profile & network section, and then choose the Your name and headline option instead of the two private mode options to turn off the private mode on LinkedIn.

What Does Turn off Private Mode in LinkedIn Mean?

To wrap up

LinkedIn is the best social media platform that is very beneficial for business purposes, networking, marketing, and creating professional relationships.

If you’d like to browse anonymously on this platform, LinkedIn with its private mode feature allows you to secretly operate on its network and view other profiles anonymously.

You know you can turn off LinkedIn private mode at any time you want.

We’re very happy that you have now learned enough about LinkedIn Private Mode and know the answers to these questions: What is LinkedIn private mode? What does turn off private mode in LinkedIn mean? How to enable and disable private mode on LinkedIn?

Categorized in: