Why should you merge LinkedIn accounts?

Do you have more than one LinkedIn account? If so, you’ve unfortunately violated the LinkedIn Professional Community Policies and User Agreement. Hence, the odds are that both of your profiles will be closed by LinkedIn. So what’s the solution? Before closing duplicate accounts, you should merge LinkedIn accounts and transfer all your connections to one account.

Now, if you don’t know how to remove or merge your duplicate LinkedIn accounts, we’re here to help you do it easily. So stay with us until the end of the article.

How do you know that you have multiple accounts?

You may not know that you have multiple LinkedIn accounts. To figure out how many accounts you have, sign out of your LinkedIn account and log in to it. LinkedIn will show you how many accounts you have on the sign-in page.

See also  How Many Post Views Is Good on LinkedIn?

How to merge LinkedIn accounts?

Now if you’d like to be a legit LinkedIn user, you need to eliminate your extra account as soon as possible.

It’s worth mentioning that currently, merging your connections with another LinkedIn account is only available on desktop, so you can’t use the LinkedIn mobile app to merge them.

Therefore, to merge your LinkedIn connections, log in to your LinkedIn account and follow the simple steps below:

Step 1: Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.

Step 2: Select the Settings & Privacy tab in the dropdown menu

Merge LinkedIn Accounts

Step 3: Click the Account preferences in the Settings page from the left rail

Step 4: Scroll down to the Account Management section from the right rail and click the Merge account tab.

Merge LinkedIn Accounts

Step 5: Enter your email address and password of the duplicate account and then click the Submit button in the Merge account pop-up window.

Step 6: Check what will be moved over and then click Confirm.

Step 7: Enter the account and password you’d like to keep, and then click the Submit button.

See also  How to Change Profile Picture on LinkedIn?

After this step, the duplicate account will be closed, and the connections from the duplicate account will be transferred to your current account.

Hot tips:

  • It’s interesting to know that if you can’t merge your accounts, one of your accounts likely either has no connection or more than 30 thousand connections.
  • Before closing or merging your user accounts, it’s best to make a PDF version of your profile information or copy it. It’s an excellent idea to have a copy of any vital information.

How to close LinkedIn duplicate accounts?

If you have multiple LinkedIn profiles, you have to shut down your account immediately to avoid getting confused and losing your potential customers.

Here’s how to close the duplicate account:

  • Enter the Settings & Privacy page of your LinkedIn account through the dropdown menu in the Me section at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  • Click the Account preferences section from the left rail and then click the Close account option under the Account Management section from the right rail.
See also  How to Ask For an Informational Interview on LinkedIn?

Merge LinkedIn Accounts

  • Click the Continue button in the Close account pop-up window.
  • Check the reason for removing your account and then click the Next button.
  • Enter your account password and then click Close Account.

Important points:

  • Keep in mind that by deleting your LinkedIn account, all parts of your profile, including your recommendations, endorsements, messages, connections, and any other information you’ve added to your account won’t be accessible.
  • Once you close your account, it means you permanently lose your profile. Accordingly, you can no longer retrieve your profile, unless your account has been closed for less than 14 days.
  • It’s worth bearing in mind that if you reopen your LinkedIn account within two weeks, in most cases, you won’t be able to recover the endorsements, recommendations, invitations, membership of groups, and followings.

Bottom line

Occasionally, you set up duplicate LinkedIn accounts without comprehending them. Consequently, you may have multiple connections with them. However, since this is inconvenient, you can merge LinkedIn accounts and transfer all your connections to the primary account by terminating the redundant account.

Categorized in: